Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood

The small, farming community of 1950’s Holcomb, Kansas is overwhelmed and devastated by the brutal murder of an entire family.

Whether or not Truman Capote is a true genius has been debated, but there is no question about the quality of his work in In Cold Blood.

In Cold BloodThis book is insanely well written, a masterpiece. Without deviating from the time line, Capote kind of spirals us around and down through events in individual lives into the climax. His use of vignettes is unparalleled.

The tie-in factors between each glimpse is amazing, considering every horn-honk, every crunch of gravel, every blade of grass mentioned in the book is factual and documented. (except for one fictional encounter thrown in at the end meant to help the reader climb back out into reality again) The symbolism Capote pulls out of everyday objects is inspired.

I believe this may have been one of the first times an author ever attempted to invoke sympathy for the killers in a factual murder. In that regard, as in many others, Capote left large shoes to fill.

The questions raised made this a difficult book to read and left me (as it should) very unsettled. Be warned this does not wrap up into a neat little package, but read it anyway, for its brilliance.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I’m glad you like it! I have this on my shelf waiting to be read. It sounds so good. I think I may need to add it to my reading pile soon. I love the way you wrote your review. Sometimes it’s hard not to give away too much of the story. You’re great at giving away just enough. You may need to give me some lessons on that. Have a great day!

    Reply

    • Not true! But thanks anyway. I was actually thinking that you’re far better at giving an appropriate synopsis of a story.

      I actually read this book while taking a class from Dr. Deeter. He was wonderful at pointing out all the hidden meanings and parallelism. If it’s a good fit for you (I know you’re almost done), I’d read it with him.

      Reply

  2. Sur ce forum pour webmestre vous allez trouver de nombreux trucs et astuces
    pour créer, animer, promouvoir assurer le réferencement de votre site internet.
    Vous trouverez également beaucoup packets de qualité pour le logiciel sicksubmitter.
    Venez échanger vos bons plans affiliations, opportunités pour gagner de l’argent en participant aux discussions.

    Rejoignez
    apprendre-webmastering.com

    Reply

  3. The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a 25 foot drop, just so she can be a
    youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views.
    I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

