The Distinction

Today’s guest post is from Ian over at Writing Fantasy who never fails to turn the wheels in my head every time he speaks. Someday I will ask him about what it must be like to live life with a 45lb. brain on your shoulders.

I prefer to write Fantasy, but I enjoy Sci Fi as well. Now Sci Fi is not the same thing as Fantasy. The distinction is small, and in some stories it’s blurred, but it’s there.

The best and most succinct explanation of the difference that I’ve ever heard is this:

“Sci Fi is what could be but isn’t.
Fantasy is what can’t be but is.”

I believe it was Orson Scott Card who said this but I can’t prove it. If anyone knows if it was indeed Mr. Card, or if you know who did say it, please let me know. If I happen to be lucky enough to have made it up without realizing it then I claim it as mine, but I doubt I did.

The difference is Sci Fi uses science to explain its impossibilities and Fantasy uses magic. The two genres have more in common then then not. And yet I’ve heard of infighting amongst the geeks and nerd ranks. Contention rages about the validity of Sci Fi over Fantasy or vice versa. Arguments that one is better than the other abound.

Brothers and sisters (assuming there are any girl geeks out there, I’ve yet to find any) please put this bad blood which runs between our two great genres aside. They are both capable of greatness and culpable of … ungreatness. But there are those who would deride us all of our place in the world. Those who view both genres as dross. The enemy is out there, let us not do their work for them. Besides if Sci Fi and Fantasy really were to clash one with the other I think we all know who would win.

Huh… I didn’t expect that. Although it may look bad now, this knight is totally gonna kick this space ranger’s butt. Trust me, because in Fantasy we got magic.

for more of Ian, be sure to stop by Writing Fantasy.

6 responses to this post.

  1. good blog, add my favorites

    Reply

  2. “Sci Fi is what could be but isn’t.
    Fantasy is what can’t be but is.”

    That quote about the distinction between Science Fiction and Fantasy is simply perfect! I love both genres, and it is really exciting to write a story that blends them together. I can’t choose one over the other. Both genres call upon a writer’s imagination to soar into wild realms, or civilizations, that provide ample opportunities to give the reader a rush. Interesting post! :)

    Reply

  3. Wow it has taken me a long time to realize this got posted here. Man the last couple of weeks have been busy. But anyway I just wanted to say, if I haven’t already, how flattered I am that you added one of my posts to to your blog. Not to mention how nice of an intro you gave me.

    I liked what Nora said and I completely agree. The way Science Fiction and Fantasy both challenge and fuel the imagination is what draws me to them.

    Thanks again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

